Skip to content ↓

Trustees and Members


Thomas Keble is an Academy School and the Governors of the Academy Trust are known as Trustees. They are supported and overseen by a separate panel of independent Members. The Trustees and Members together are known as the Trust Board.


Thomas Keble is an Academy School and the Trustees are the Governors of the Academy Trust and oversee the strategic development of the school, supporting and advising the senior leadership team. They meet six times a year as the Full Trust Board and review all aspects of the school’s work, and at least once a term within various committees, according to their particular expertise or interest, to focus on other specific areas.

Key functions of the Trust Board are to:

  • Set the aims and objectives for the school in order to raise standards and secure the health, safety and well-being of pupils
  • Set the policies that underpin those aims and objectives
  • Set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • Be a source of challenge and support to the Headteacher
  • Be accountable for the school’s strategic development.

List of Trustees

Trustees (Governors)                        
 Staff  Trustees (elected/appointed by Staff)  Start of Term of Office  End of Term of Office  
Mr Steve Shaw (Headteacher) September 2022 n/a  
Mr Rob Kingscote September 2022 September 2026  
Parent Trustees (elected by parents or appointed by Trust Board)      
Mr Julian Wintle (Chair) December 2020 December 2024  
Dr Dave Land December 2020 Sept 2023 (res)   
Academy Trustees (appointed by Trust Board)      
Mr Simon Bernstein October 2019 May 2023 (res)  
Mrs Fiona Gill October 2020 October 2024  
Mr Alex Norman  October 2020 October 2024  
Mrs Karen Powell July 2021 July 2024  
Mr Alastair Pearson January 2022 January 2026  
Mr Nikki Smith February 2023 February 2027  
Mrs Nicola Bryant September 2023 September 2027  
Mrs Carol Turner March 2024 March 2028  

The Trustees’ committees consist of the following groups:

Quality of Education Committee (Chr: Karen Powell)

There are two aspects to this committee:

1.1 Student Welfare: nothing can be more important than that all children are properly cared for and work in an environment which allows them to succeed.  This committee is responsible amongst other topics for attendance, behaviour and all aspects of student support. Karen Powell is the Link Trustee for Safeguarding.

1.2 Curriculum:  the Trustees also examine what the school teaches in all of its activities and the quality of education received by the children.  Our responsibilities include the analysis of examination results, provision of Special Needs and plans for new subjects.  Our dedicated SEN Trustee is Alastair Pearson.

Resources Committee (Chr: Alex Norman)

There are two aspects to this committee:

2.1 Personnel: the school’s most valuable resource is its staff and this committee examines all aspects of our work, including appointments, staff training and career development, and employment legislation. 

2.2 Finance & Premises: this committee examines how the school uses its budget and how we can develop the site.  In recent years we have overseen the Catering Contract and building plans so that everybody can enjoy a safe, healthy and stimulating environment

Trustees’ Declaration of Interests

Declaration of Interests forms are completed annually by all Trustees.  No Trustee at Thomas Keble School has declared a Pecuniary Interest.  Memberships of other organisations have been declared as follows:

  • Alex Norman: Member of Gloucestershire Schools Forum (Voluntary) 
  • Simon Bernstein (Member): CEO of Longfield Hospice (Local Charity)
  • Fiona Gill (Academy Trustee): husband is Trustee of Foodbank Stroud (Voluntary) and employed by The Door Youth Project Stroud

Minutes of meetings

Should you wish to have copies of minutes (non-confidential) of trustee meetings, please email the clerk (Amanda Oxberry) at: and she will be happy to send any you wish to see.


Members oversee the Trust’s governance and maintain an awareness of the Trust’s business. We currently have four Members who oversee the Trust’s governance and maintain an awareness of the Trust’s business, but are not expected to attend regular Trust Board meetings.  Members meet with Trustees around twice a year at a Strategy meeting in July and at the Academy’s Annual General Meeting (held in December), and hold three further Members’ only meetings throughout the year.

List of Members

Member Date of Appointment End of Term of Office   Resigned
Mr Dan Brunwin November 2018 N/A  July 2021
Mr Dan Endruweit November 2018 N/A  July 2023
Mr Daniel Jennings January 2020 N/A June 2023
Mr Clive Keogh January 2021 N/A  April 2021
Mrs Jo Moran November 2018 N/A December 2020
Mr Steve Ponting September 2017 N/A  
Mr Simon Bernstein May 2023 N/A  
Mrs Alison Clarke May 2023 N/A  
Mrs Kath Hume December 2023 N/A  

To contact the Chair of Trustees, email

All Trustees and Members are contactable via the Clerk: